Line Up

Experience

Thomas Wirtz

Communication designer
Düsseldorf (GER)

This is art. It moves. It does something with us. It is always different. This is us. These are the others. This is a mirror of our soul. This is Black Mirror.

Exploding sodium, vibrating glycerin, glowing steel wool or sublimating dry ice are just a few of the effects that Thomas Wirtz combines with typography in his Düsseldorf-based laboratory to develop experimental design solutions in various design disciplines. His award-winning master’s thesis forms the basic methodology for his workshops at the University of the Arts in Berlin.
For the Adobe MAX Creativity Conference 2017 in Las Vegas, he created, in addition to the corporate design, interactive exhibits and thus a live experience of characters and physical processes for the visitors together with his technical project partner Frédéric Wiegand.

Take-away:

“A unique experiment: We bring the” Black Mirror “installation from Las Vegas to Dusseldorf and step up the game. The modular system of analogue distortion effects not only allows participants to distort individual characters and symbols, but also to distort and film their own face live and in motion in a variety of ways.”

Jetzt kaufen:

OSFC 18
Tickets

Newsletter

Line Up

Experience

Thomas Wirtz

Communication designer
Düsseldorf (GER)

Das ist Kunst. Das bewegt sich. Das macht was mit uns. Das ist immer anders. Das sind wir. Das sind die anderen. Das ist ein Spiegel unserer Seele. Das ist Black Mirror.

Explodierendes Natrium, vibrierendes Glycerin, glühende Stahlwolle oder sublimierendes Trockeneis sind nur einige Effekte, die Thomas Wirtz in seinem Düsseldorfer Labor mit Typografie kombiniert, um experimentelle Gestaltungslösungen in unterschiedlichen Designdisziplinen zu entwickeln. Seine mehrfach ausgezeichnete Masterarbeit bildet die grundlegende Methodik für seine Workshops an der Universität der Künste in Berlin.
Für die Adobe MAX Creativity Conference 2017 in Las Vegas hat er neben dem Corporate Design gemeinsam mit seinem technikaffinen Projektpartner Frédéric Wiegand interaktive Exponate und damit ein Live-Erlebnis aus Schriftzeichen und physikalischen Prozessen für die Besucher geschaffen.

Take-away:

„Ein einmaliges Experiment: Wir holen die „Black Mirror“ Installation aus Las Vegas nach Düsseldorf und legen noch eine Schippe drauf. Das modulare System aus analogen Verzerrungseffekten ermöglicht den Teilnehmern nicht nur einzelne Schriftzeichen und Symbole, sondern auch ihr eigenes Gesicht live und in Bewegung auf unterschiedlichste Weise zu verzerren und abzufilmen.“

Jetzt kaufen:

OSFC 18
Tickets

Newsletter